John Rhys an Hugo Schuchardt (24-09512)

von John Rhys

an Hugo Schuchardt

Oxford

23. 12. 1879

language Englisch

Schlagwörter: Rhys, Myfanwy Rhys, Olwen Trübner, Karl Ignaz Schuchardt, Hugo (1886) Rhys, John (1877)

Zitiervorschlag: John Rhys an Hugo Schuchardt (24-09512). Oxford, 23. 12. 1879. Hrsg. von Dagmar Bronner, Belma Mahmutovic, Verena Schwägerl-Melchior und Markus Wursthorn (2017). In: Bernhard Hurch (Hrsg.): Hugo Schuchardt Archiv. Online unter https://gams.uni-graz.at/o:hsa.letter.5702, abgerufen am 26. 02. 2024. Handle: hdl.handle.net/11471/518.10.1.5702.


|1|

St. Germains, Oxford
Dec. 23. 1879

Dear Schuchardt,

You are greatly mistaken there is nothing to account for your not having heard more from me excepting the fact (for such I fear it is) that I am ever a bad Correspondent. We were greatly pleased with the Keltische Briefen1 and I think I told you so: if not I meant to have done so. We also last

Rhys2

|2|

last spring or summer saw that you were making a sojourn in the south of Spain: I felt I envied you very much, though it is not Spain I want to visit so much as France and Italy. I should have replied to your last letter sooner but we have been in some trouble about little Myfanwy as she has been ill but she is |3| now getting better. I am sorry to say we have no photo of hers or else I should have been glad to send it you: in lieu thereof I venture to send you one of my own taken at Carnarvon last summer. Myfanwy has no brother but she has a little sister whose name is Olwen: she is now three years and a half old.

|4|

I do not know much about Trübner’s arrangements and I am inclined to believe that Zupitza3 had no copy of the second edition sent him: in fact I think he gave very few copies away for review this time either here or abroad. If he had done otherwise I have no doubt you would have had one.

Mrs. Rhys unites with me in wishing you a merry Xmas and a happy new year

Believe me

Yours very truly

John


1 Vgl. Schuchardt (1886) und Brief Nr. 19 (vom 8. Dezember 1876).

2 Hierbei handelt es sich um die Fortsetzung der Unterschrift von der zweiten Seite des Briefs.

3 Vermutlich Julius Zupitza (1844–1895), Germanist und Anglist, seit 1876 Professor für englische Philologie in Berlin. Es geht um die zweite und verbesserte Auflage der "Lectures on Welsh Philology", die 1879 wiederum bei Trübner & Co. erschien; siehe auch den vorhergehenden Brief (Nr. 23, vom 20. März 1878).

Faksimiles: Universitätsbibliothek Graz Abteilung für Sondersammlungen, Creative commons CC BY-NC https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/4.0/ (Sig. 09512)