Cantus Network

libri ordinarii of the Salzburg metropolitan province (Beta-Version)

Feedback

Vorau

The Liber ordinarius of Vorau.

The Augustinian monastery of Vorau in eastern Styria was built by Salzburg’s Archbishop Eberhard I. (c. 1085-1164) in 1163 following an endowment by Ottokar III., Margrave of Traungau (1129-1164), and became part of the group of Salzburg canons. The monastery’s first provost was Liupold (1163-1185), who had been dean of the Augustinian monastery of Seckau, while four canons came from Salzburg cathedral chapter. As attested by the many manuscripts surviving from this time, including numerous liturgica, Vorau’s library already began to flourish significantly under the second provost, Bernhard I. (1185-1202), who had previously been custodian and librarian in Seckau. The Liber ordinarius (Vorau Cod. 99) governing the liturgical practice of this monastery, which was situated in the easternmost part of the Archdiocese of Salzburg, was a copy of the Salzburg ordinarius of 1198 (A-Su M II 6). It had come to Vorau from Suben and was subsequently revised and tailored to the needs of its new location. This book served as a template for numerous liturgica produced in Vorau itself until a liturgical reform introduced the “pure” rite of Salzburg Cathedral (while retaining some local propria) in the 15th century. This reform is attested in numerous surviving 15th-century Salzburg missals and breviaries that follow the cathedral rite. A monastery’s liturgical order is based upon Libri ordinarii, of which Vorau has one with full musical notation (Cod. 99, early 13th century) as well as two with partial or no notation (Cod. 333, second half of the 13th century and Cod. 30, 14th century). Vorau monastery is thus one of the few places whose medieval liturgy and liturgical music is documented more or less seamlessly with no major gaps.


The older ordinarius Cod. 99, a direct copy of a Salzburg template, is available as the Salzburg variant in the edition of the Salzburg rulebook. Codices 333 and 30 served as the basis for the Vorau edition described here. The quotes from liturgical-scientific summaries, of which the Salzburg ordinariuscontains so many, are missing in these two sources apart from two exceptions; the typical division into seasons (sex aetates) at the beginning of the text is missing likewise. In Cod. 99, the use of neume notation is modelled on the Passau Liber ordinarius. In contrast to the main Salzburg sources, which have neumes throughout, Cod. 333 uses neume notation first and foremost for the chants of the Ordinary of the mass and for the last word of many versicle incipits. The liturgical order corresponds to the Salzburg rulebook, and the local adaptations for use in Vorau monastery that were added in Cod. 99 are lacking in the main text. Cod. 30, however, contains two addenda to the ordinarius, with information on feasts specific to Vorau. The older addition (first quarter of the 15th century) sets out the structure of the feast of Visitatio Mariae, which was newly introduced at the time (fol. 21r), on the day preceding Translatio Thomae apost. (3 July). Thomas and Mary are Vorau’s main patron saints. The second addendum, which judging by the writing was made towards the end of the 15th century, contains the following material specific to Vorau: Conceptio Mariae (fol. 22r), Thomae apost. (23r), Dorotheae (23v), Iulianae (CS, 24r), Conversio Mariae Magdalenae (24v), De armis domini (25r), Sigismundi (→ Georgii, 26r), Erasmi (CS, 26r), Viti (26r), Achacii (26r), Translatio Thomae (with octave, 26v+27r), the Passau celebration for Inventio Stephani (27r), Eustachii (CS, 28r), Infra octavam omnium sanctorum (28r) and some special offices for Mary (28vff).

It is certainly possible that the main text of the two more recent versions was in use in Vorau’s monastery parishes, a conclusion suggested by the fact that the liturgical explanations were not included and the Vorauproprium is missing. If this is the case, then these two sources would be the only surviving copies attesting the use of the ordo of the Salzburg cathedral canons in a country parish.

Apart from a few irrelevant divergences, Cod. 30 is an exact copy of Cod. 333 and was thus not taken into account in our transcription. However, the abovementioned addenda in Cod. 30, which are missing in Cod. 333, were coded.

by Robert Klugseder

Ansicht wählen:

Cantus Network

libri ordinarii of the Salzburg metropolitan province (Beta-Version)

Feedback

Vorau

Der Liber ordinarius aus Vorau.

Das Augustiner-Chorherrenstift Vorau in der Oststeiermark wurde 1163 aufgrund einer Stiftung des Traungauer Markgrafen Ottokar III. (1129-1164) vom Salzburger Erzbischof Eberhard I. (um 1085-1164) errichtet und dem Salzburger Chorherrenverband eingegliedert. Erster Propst wurde der aus dem Seckauer Chorherrenstift stammende Stiftsdekan Liupold (1163-1185), vier Chorherren kamen aus dem Salzburger Domstift. Bereits unter dem zweiten Propst Bernhard I. (1185-1202), der vorher Kustos und Bibliothekar in Seckau war, kam die Bibliothek zu großer Blüte, davon zeugen heute noch zahlreiche erhaltene Handschriften dieser Zeit, darunter nicht wenige Liturgica. Konstitutiv für die liturgische Praxis des im äußersten Osten der Erzdiözese Salzburg gelegenen Stiftes wurde ein Liber ordinarius (Vorau Cod. 99), der aus Suben kommend, eine redigierte und auf die Bedürfnisse des konkreten Ortes hin bearbeitete Abschrift des Salzburger Liber ordinarius von 1198 (A-Su M II 6) ist. Dieses Buch diente als Grundlage zur Herstellung zahlreicher Liturgica vor Ort, bis im 15. Jahrhundert eine liturgische Reform den „reinen“ Salzburger Domritus (unter Beibehaltung einiger lokaler Proprien) einführte. Von dieser Reform zeugen heute noch zahlreiche vorhandene Salzburger Missalien und Breviere des 15. Jahrhunderts, welche dem Domritus folgen. Grundlegend für die liturgische Ordnung eines Hauses sind die Libri ordinarii, von denen es neben dem voll notierten (Cod. 99, Anfang 13. Jahrhundert) auch zwei teilweise oder nicht notierte gibt (Cod. 333, zweite Hälfte des 13. Jahrhunderts und Cod. 30, 14. Jahrhundert), sodass das Stift Vorau zu den wenigen Orten zählen kann, deren mittelalterliche Liturgie und liturgische Musik ohne wesentliche Lücken dokumentiert ist.


Der ältere Ordinarius Cod. 99, eine direkte Abschrift einer Salzburger Vorlage, steht als Salzburger Variante in der Edition des Salzburger Regelbuchs zur Verfügung. Für die hier beschriebene Vorauer Edition dienten die Codices 333 und 30 als Vorlage. Bis auf zwei Ausnahmen fehlen in den beiden Quellen die im Salzburger Ordinarius so zahlreich vorhandenen Zitate aus liturgiewissenschaftlichen Summen, so auch die typische Weltzeiteneinteilung (sex aetates) zu Beginn des Textes. Der Einsatz der Neumennotation orientiert sich in Cod. 99 am Vorbild des Passauer Liber ordinarius: Im Gegensatz zu den Salzburger Hauptquellen, die durchgehend neumiert sind, verwendet Cod. 333 Neumennotation vor allem für Messordinariumsgesänge und für das letzte Wort zahlreicher Versikelincipits. Die liturgische Ordnung entspricht dem Salzburger Regelbuch, wobei die lokalen Adaptionen für den Gebrauch in Stift Vorau, die in Cod. 99 nachgetragen wurden, im Haupttext fehlen. In Cod. 30 sind jedoch zwei Ordinarius-Addenda mit Informationen für Vorauer Eigenfeste überliefert. Die ältere Ergänzung (erstes Viertel des 15. Jahrhunderts) regelt den Ablauf des damals neu eingeführten Festes Visitatio Mariae (fol. 21r) am Vortag der Translatio Thomae apost. (03.07.). Thomas und Maria sind die Hauptpatrone von Vorau. Das zweite Addendum, der Schrift nach zu urteilen am Ende des 15. Jahrhunderts entstanden, enthält folgendes Vorauer Eigengut: Conceptio Mariae (fol. 22r), Thomae apost. (23r), Dorotheae (23v), Iulianae (CS, 24r), Conversio Mariae Magdalenae (24v), De armis domini (25r), Sigismundi (→ Georgii, 26r), Erasmi (CS, 26r), Viti (26r), Achacii (26r), Translatio Thomae (mit Octav, 26v+27r), die Passauer Feier für Inventio Stephani (27r), Eustachii (CS, 28r), Infra octavam omnium sanctorum (28r) sowie einige Sonderoffizien für Maria (28vff).

Es ist durchaus möglich, dass der Haupttext der beiden jüngeren Fassungen in Vorauer Klosterpfarren in Gebrauch war. Die nicht berücksichtigen Liturgieerklärungen und das Fehlen des Vorauer Propriums legen diesen Schluss nahe. Die beiden Quellen wären damit die einzig erhaltenen Abschriften, die die Verwendung des Salzburger Chorherrenordo in einer Landpfarre belegen könnten.

Cod. 30 stellt, bis auf wenige, nicht relevante Abweichungen, eine exakte Kopie von Cod. 333 dar und fand in der Transkription keine Berücksichtigung. Kodiert wurden jedoch die gerade beschriebenen Addenda in Cod. 30, die in Cod. 333 fehlen.

von Robert Klugseder

Ansicht wählen: