Cantus Network

libri ordinarii of the Salzburg metropolitan province (Beta-Version)

Feedback

Klosterneuburg

The Liber ordinarius of the Augustinian monastery of Klosterneuburg

A number of scholars have already addressed the history of the liturgical monophonic music in the Augustinian chapter of canons in Klosterneuburg during the Middle Ages (esp. Robert Klugseder, Debora Lacoste, Michael L. Norton and Franz Karl Praßl). Fortunately, the source situation for this important Austrian monastery is very good. Besides numerous codices now held in the monastery library (including the antiphonaries A-KN 1012 and 1013), several sources of Klosterneuburg's liturgical music have survived in Graz University Library (Graduale A-Gu 807) and the Österreichische Nationalbibliothek (including the gradual-sacramentary A-Wn cod. 13314).


According to monastery tradition, the institution was founded by Leopold III and his wife Agnes in 1114. For a long time, the day the foundation stone was laid, 12 June 1114, was regarded as the date of the monastery's foundation. The actual dedication of the Marienkirche (patrocinium the Nativity of Mary) took place on 29 September 1136. The monastery was turned into a house for Augustinian canons that same year. The canons of the founding community allegedly came from Salzburg cathedral chapter, Chiemsee monastery, Rottenbuch, and St. Nikola in Passau. On important aspect to consider when evaluating the liturgical tradition is that there were two, sometimes even three Augustinian monasteries in Klosterneuburg at the same time. Besides the chapter of canons at St. Maria, there was also a chapter of canonesses at St. Magdalena – probably from 1136 to 1568 – and a chapter of canonesses at St. Jacob from 1261 to 1432.

Drawing on research thus far, we can assume that the high medieval sources with unlined neume notation were used in the monastery of St. Maria, while the manuscripts with early lined notation were in use in the convent of St. Magdalena. Earlier research referred to this highly specific form of lined notation as "Klosterneuburg notation". Research by Robert Klugseder suggests that it originated in Augsburg during the 1120s; Klosterneuburg is simply the place with the most extensive corpus of sources containing this special notation.

The surviving Libri ordinarii of Klosterneuburg contain the liturgical traditions of the canons and only refer to the canonesses' participation in regard to joint celebrations. The ordinarii should basically be classed as local adaptations and developments of the diocesan liturgy of Passau, but not as direct copies of the Passau Liber ordinarius. The ordinarii contain numerous references to local celebrations, processions, churches, chapels and actors and thus constitute an extremely valuable historical source. The oldest of these ordinarii, Cod. 1213 of Klosterneuburg monastery library (KNB1), was produced comparatively late around 1325. Cod. 625 (KNB2) was copied a few years later, Cod. 983 (KNB3) around 1398. The most recent ordinarius, Cod. 1014 (KNB4), was written around 1500 and contains numerous liturgical innovations that derive from a range of causes: for one, Passau's diocesan liturgy was revamped several times over the course of the 15th century and new feasts added. Some of these innovations were also adopted in Klosterneuburg. In the 15th century, the rising Habsburg emperors pushed for the canonisation of the Babenberg Margrave Leopold III. Leopold, who had died in 1136 and was buried in his foundation of Klosterneuburg, was canonised in 1485. This event influenced the monastery's liturgical practice, not least through the introduction of a specially composed Leopold historia. Another striking feature of KNB4 is the comprehensive linguistic revision of the Latin in the rubrics as a result of monastic humanism.

by Gionata Brusa

Ansicht wählen:

Cantus Network

libri ordinarii of the Salzburg metropolitan province (Beta-Version)

Feedback

Klosterneuburg

Der Liber Ordinarius des Augustinerchorherrenstifts Klosterneuburg

Die mittelalterliche Geschichte der liturgischen einstimmigen Musik des Augustinerchorherrenstifts Klosterneuburg wurde von verschiedenen Forschern umfassend behandelt (v.a. Robert Klugseder, Debora Lacoste, Michael L. Norton und Franz Karl Praßl). Die Quellenlage ist für dieses bedeutende österreichische Kloster sehr erfreulich. Neben zahlreichen Codices, die heute in der Stiftsbibliothek aufbewahrt werden (u.a. die Antiphonare A-KN 1012 und 1013), haben sich einige Zeugnisse Klosterneuburger liturgischer Musik in der Universitätsbibliothek Graz (Graduale A-Gu 807) und der Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek (u.a. Graduale-Sakramentar A-Wn cod. 13314) erhalten.


Die Klostertradition geht von einer Gründung des Stiftes durch Leopold III. und seine Frau Agnes im Jahr 1114 aus. Das Datum der Grundsteinlegung am 12. Juni 1114 galt lange Zeit als Gründungstag des Klosters. Die eigentliche Weihe der Marienkirche (Patrozinium Mariae Geburt) fand am 29. September 1136 statt. Im gleichen Jahr wurde das Stift in eine Niederlassung für Augustinerchorherren umgewandelt. Die Kanoniker der Gründungsgemeinschaft sollen aus dem Domkapitel in Salzburg, aus dem Kloster Chiemsee, Rottenbuch und aus St. Nikola in Passau gekommen sein. Ein wichtiger Gesichtspunkt für die Beurteilung der liturgischen Tradition ist der Umstand, dass es in Klosterneuburg zwei, teilweise sogar drei Klöster des hl. Augustinus gleichzeitig gab. Neben dem Chorherrenkloster St. Maria bestand, vermutlich von 1136 bis 1568, ein Chorfrauenkloster St. Magdalena sowie von 1261 bis 1432 das Kanonissenkloster St. Jacob.

Bezugnehmend auf die bisherige Forschung kann man davon ausgehen, dass die hochmittelalterlichen Quellen mit linienloser Neumennotation in St. Maria, also dem Männerkloster in Gebrauch waren, die Handschriften mit früher Liniennotation in St. Magdalena. Die ältere Forschung bezeichnete diese sehr spezifische Liniennotation als „Klosterneuburger Notation“, Forschungen von Robert Klugseder legen nahe, den Ursprung dieser Notation in Augsburg der 1120er Jahre zu suchen. Klosterneuburg ist lediglich der Ort mit dem umfangreichsten Quellenkorpus, der diese besondere Notation verwendet.

Die erhaltenen Libri ordinarii Klosterneuburgs beinhalten die liturgische Tradition der Chorherren und weisen nur an gemeinsam begangenen Feiern Hinweise auf die Beteiligung der Chorfrauen auf. Grundsätzlich sind diese Ordinarii als lokale Adaptionen und Weiterentwicklungen der Passauer Diözesanliturgie einzustufen, nicht aber als direkte Abschriften des Passauer Liber ordinarius. Die Ordinarii enthalten zahlreiche Hinweise auf lokale Feiern, Prozessionen, Kirchen, Kapellen und handelnde Personen, sie stellen somit eine außerordentlich wertvolle historische Quelle dar. Der älteste dieser Ordinarii, Cod. 1213 der Stiftsbibliothek (KNB2), ist um 1325, also relativ spät, entstanden. Cod. 635 (KNB1) wurde wenige Jahre später, Cod. 983 (KNB3) etwa im Jahr 1398 kopiert. Der jüngste Ordinarius Cod. 1014 (KNB4) entstand um das Jahr 1500 und enthält zahlreiche liturgische Neuerungen, die auf verschiedene Ursachen zurückgehen: Zum einen wurde die Passauer Diözesanliturgie im Laufe des 15. Jahrhunderts mehrfach umgestaltet und um neue Feste erweitert. Diese Neuerungen wurden zum Teil auch in Klosterneuburg berücksichtigt. Die aufstrebenden Habsburger Kaiser betrieben im 15. Jahrhundert die Kanonisation des Babenberger Markgrafen Leopold III. Der bereits 1136 verstorbene und in seiner Gründung Klosterneuburg begrabene Leopold wurde 1485 heiliggesprochen. Dieses Ereignis hatte Einfluss auf die liturgische Praxis Klosters, nicht zuletzt durch die Einführung einer eigens kompilierten Leopold-Historia. Eine weitere Auffälligkeit in KNB4 ist eine umfassende sprachliche Überarbeitung des Lateins in den Rubriken, die als Folge des Klosterhumanismus zu sehen ist.

von Gionata Brusa

Ansicht wählen: