GAMS

Humanities' Asset Management System

About

What is GAMS?

GAMS is an OAIS compliant asset management system for the management, publication and long-term archiving of digital resources from the Humanities. It enables scholars, researchers and students to manage and publish resources from projects with permanent identification and enriched with metadata.
Design and development of GAMS are carried out by the Centre for Information Modelling in cooperation with multiple partners inside and outside the university, with regards to the specific requirements of humanistic research.
The repository is fully OAIS (Open Archival Information System)-compliant and covers the full life cycle of digital objects from receiving the SIP (submission information package), archiving the AIP (archival information package) and delivering the DIP (dissemination information package) to the public.
With regard to the archived data we work towards the FAIR data principles: "data should be Findable, Accessible, Interoperable, and Re-usable".

What technologies are used?

GAMS was conceived and developed on the basis of the Open-Source project Fedora (Flexible Extensible Digital Object Repository Architecture) and has been continuously improved in the course of cooperative projects, addressing the specific needs of university research. A Java application for object management and data curation was developed: This Cirilo Client offers applications which are particularly suited to being used as tools for mass operations on Fedora repository objects, such as ingest or replacement processes. It also fulfills a lot of functions with regards to metadata enrichment and quality control of the resources.
Further integral technologies include Apache Cocoon, Blazegraph, Apache Lucene, Apache Solr, PostgreSQL and Loris IIIF image server. Special attention is paid to the platform independence and open source policies of the included software.

Which data formats are accepted?

GAMS is based on XML (eXtensible Markup Language) -based standards and technologies for data storage and representation. If the data in question does not conform to any XML-based international standard, the repository will implement suitable workflows for the conversion of the content in agreement with the project partners.
The main focus of the data collection is on textual resources, the preferred format for which is XML. For text and metadata, the Centre uses (among others) the following standards: TEI (Text Encoding Initiative), LIDO (Lightweight Information Describing Objects), DC (Dublin Core), METS/MODS (Metadata Encoding and Transmission Standard/Metadata Object Description Scheme), RDF (Resource Description Framework), SKOS (Simple Knowledge Organization System). This list of preferred formats is reflected in the use of dedicated content models for the respective standards. The Cirilo Client then checks the well-formedness of the XML and validates the document against the given schema to ensure conformity.
The JPEG, JPEG2000 (Joint Photographic Experts Group), PNG (Portable Network Graphics) and TIFF (Tagged Image File Format) standards are accepted as formats for images; lossless formats are preferred for long-term preservation. The selection of the format, the necessary quality and the metadata contained for the respective project is made in consultation between the repository and the depositor. If necessary, the repository can carry out or advise on a conversion.

How can data be deposited, which data is collected?

Data can be deposited mainly in the context of a collaborative research project. Each project is accompanied throughout its duration by a metadata manager who oversees the workflow, data modelling, ingest and publication. This approach guarantees high data quality suitable for both publication and long-term archiving. At the same time, continuous supervision from ingest to publication avoids many pitfalls. Ideally, all important points are already defined in the data management plan at the beginning of the cooperation project.
The research data come from all humanities disciplines. Particular emphasis and expertise is placed on the topic of digital scholarly editions based on XML/TEI and corresponding visualisation and processing, i.e. the source material "text" in any form.
If one would like to deposit new data in GAMS, the logical path is therefore a joint funding application with the Centre for Information Modelling. For the transfer of already existing data, an estimate of the effort and thus of the costs can be made at the Centre if there is appropriate expertise to be able to integrate the data.
Sample deposition agreement
Sample data management plan

How are data continuously curated and preserved?

The stored research data are secured for at least 10 years in accordance with the research data policy of the University of Graz and the requirements of most funding bodies. A very high level of data curation is normally achieved by monitoring data creation. All data are subject to the same regulations for long-term preservation.
The development and maintenance of the project-specific web interfaces for the presentation and analysis of the data is in any case secured for the duration of the cooperation. We already try to take into account in the development that these will remain continuously available and usable even after the end of the funding period and are currently achieving good results in this respect. However, in the fast-changing world of web development and in the event of security problems, no further guarantees can be given. This affects however only the project-specific web interfaces; the data itself remains unaffected and available in any case.
For the addition or revision of existing data and interfaces, a customized estimate for the necessary effort must be carried out individually.

Commitment to Open Access

We support open access to all sources of human knowledge and cultural heritage (cf. Berlin Declaration and Open Access Policy of the University of Graz). In order to realize the vision of a globally accessible representation of knowledge, it must be sustainable, interactive, transparent and openly accessible. For this reason, the data available via GAMS is published - in agreement with the depositors - under the most open Creative Commons license possible (CC-BY or CC-BY-NC). The derived Dublin Core metadata are licensed under CC0.
If the research data is sensitive data (e.g. personal data), the repository ensures that such data sets are not accessible or only accessible with appropriate protective measures (e.g. anonymisation) (cf. privacy policy of the University of Graz).
Should the repository become aware of a violation of intellectual property or personal rights in the context of the data made available, access to the data sets concerned will be blocked immediately and the depositors will be informed in order to take appropriate steps.

How can the data be accessed?

For users, usually the first point of access will be the graphical user interface created specifically for the project in question. It will offer suitable ways of interacting with the data in question. In addition, you can browse the Fedora backend at http://gams.uni-graz.at/archive/search.
To systematically harvest or integrate data, use our OAI-PMH interface at http://gams.uni-graz.at/oaiprovider and query it according to the PMH (cf. the documentation here). Currently, three metadata prefixes are supported: oai_dc (Dublin Core), oai_europeana (Europeana Semantic Elements) and oai_edm (Europeana Data Model).
With regard to images, all image data stored in the repository can be delivered via a IIIF-compatible image server. To this end, use the syntax http://gams.uni-graz.at/iiif/{object PID}/{image PID}/{IIIF query}, e.g. http://gams.uni-graz.at/iiif/o:sis.2-10%2FIMAGE.1/100,1000,2880,2000/pct:15/0/default.jpg.
In agreement with the partners, data can also be contributed to various aggregation services like Europeana, CorrespSearch, Pelagios or Nomisma. The legal status of the data and objects in question are clarified with the project partner; usually all resources are available under a non-commercial Creative Commons license (Creative Commons BY-NC 4.0). The Centre also offers consulting and expertise in the fields of IPR (Intellectual Property Rights) and licensing.

How are data objects persistently identified?

Internally, data objects go by a persistent identifier (PID) in the form of a standardized project related permanent link. In addition, the infrastructure includes a Handle server, offering the possibility to assign an identifier in this system (prefix 11471).

What does the workflow and data life cycle in GAMS look like?

The following figure illustrates the data life cycle in the GAMS repository.

GAMS workflow and data life cycle
GAMS workflow and data life cycle

Is GAMS a trusted digital repository and how is it certified?

GAMS was first certified as a trusted digital repository in alignment with the principles of the Data Seal of Approval in 2014. Since 2019 we carry the CoreTrustSeal. In 2020, GAMS was officially recognized as a CLARIN B Centre. GAMS is also registered with the Registry of Research Data Repositories and OpenDOAR.

Where can I learn more about the infrastructure and is it reusable?

The whole infrastructure is available as an open source software package as a contribution to DARIAH-EU at https://github.com/acdh/cirilo. Extensive documentation can be found on this site http://gams.uni-graz.at/docs.

Release: 2018
Last Update: 2022-04-05

GAMS

Geisteswissenschaftliches Asset Management System

About

Was ist GAMS?

GAMS ist ein OAIS-konformes Asset Management System zur Verwaltung, Publikation und Langzeitarchivierung digitaler Ressourcen aus allen geisteswissenschaftlichen Fächern. Es bietet MitarbeiterInnen aus Forschung und Lehre, aber auch Studierenden in Projekten die Möglichkeit, diese Ressourcen zitabel und mit Metadaten versehen zu verwalten und zu veröffentlichen.
Geplant und entwickelt wurde GAMS am Zentrum für Informationsmodellierung im Rahmen einer Vielzahl von Kooperationsprojekten mit inner- und außeruniversitären PartnerInnen, in Auseinandersetzung mit den konkreten Erfordernissen universitärer Forschung.
Das Repositorium ist komplett OAIS(Open Archival Information System)-konform und deckt den gesamten Lebenszyklus von digitalen Objekten vom Erhalt des SIP (submission information package), speichern des AIP (archival information package) und Zurverfügungstellung des DIP (dissemination information package) für die Öffentlichkeit ab.
Mit Hinblick auf die gespeicherten Daten orientieren wir uns an den FAIR-Datenprinzipien: "data should be Findable, Accessible, Interoperable, and Re-usable".

Welche Technologien werden verwendet?

GAMS basiert auf dem Open Source Projekt Fedora (Flexible Extensible Digital Object Repository Architecture) und wird im Rahmen von Kooperationsprojekten laufend weiterentwickelt um auf spezifische Forschungsinteressen Rücksicht zu nehmen. Für das Objektmanagement und die Datenkuratierung wurde eine eigene Java Applikation entwickelt. Dieser Cirilo Client bietet Funktionalitäten, die besonders für große Mengen an Objekten relevant sind, z.B. Ingest oder Ersetzungsoperationen. Er übernimmt auch zahlreiche Aufgaben bei der Anreicherung der Metadaten und der Qualitätskontrolle der Ressourcen.
Weitere wesentliche Bestandteile der Infrastruktur basieren auf Apache Cocoon, Blazegraph, Apache Lucene, Apache Solr, PostgreSQL und Loris IIIF image server. Besonderes Augenmerk liegt auf der Plattformunabhängigkeit und der Open Source Policy der einzelnen Softwarekomponenten.

Welche Datenformate werden akzeptiert?

GAMS setzt auf eine XML-(eXtensible Markup Language)basierte Datenarchivierung und -präsentation. Wenn die Daten nicht in einem anerkannten XML-basierten Standard vorliegen, implementiert das Repositorium in Abstimmung mit den Projektpartnern einen Konvertierungsablauf.
Das Hauptaugenmerk bei der Datensammlung liegt auf textuellen Ressourcen, das bevorzugte Format dafür ist XML. Für textbasierten Inhalt und Metadaten werden unter anderem die folgenden Standards verwendet: TEI (Text Encoding Initiative), LIDO (Lightweight Information Describing Objects), DC (Dublin Core), METS/MODS (Metadata Encoding and Transmission Standard/Metadata Object Description Scheme), RDF (Resource Description Framework), SKOS (Simple Knowledge Organization System). Diese Liste von bevorzugten Formaten spiegelt sich auch in der Verwendung von dafür vorgesehenden spezifischen Content Models. Der Cirilo Client prüft die Daten auf Wohlgeformtheit und validiert gegen das jeweils zu verwendende Schema.
Als Formate für Bilder werden die Standards JPEG, JPEG2000 (Joint Photographic Experts Group), PNG (Portable Network Graphics) und TIFF (Tagged Image File Format) akzeptiert, für die Langzeitarchivierung bevorzugt werden verlustfreie Formate. Die Auswahl des Formats, der notwendigen Qualität und der enthaltenen Metadaten für das jeweilige Projekt wird in Absprache zwischen Repositorium und Depositor:in getroffen. Bei Bedarf kann das Repositorium eine Konvertierung durchführen bzw. zu einer solchen beraten.

Wie können Daten abgegeben werden, welche Daten werden gesammelt?

Daten können hauptsächlich im Rahmen eines Kooperationsprojektes ins Repositorium eingebracht werden. Jedes Projekt wird während der gesamten Laufzeit von einem/einer Metadatenmanager/in begleitet, der/die den Arbeitsablauf, die Datenmodellierung, den Ingest und die Publikation betreut. Dieser Zugang garantiert hohe Datenqualität, die sowohl für die Publikation wie auch für die Langzeitarchivierung geeignet ist. Gleichzeitig werden durch die kontinuierliche Betreuung von der Erfassung bis zur Publikation viele Fallen vermieden. Idealerweise werden alle wichtigen Punkte zu Beginn des Kooperationsprojektes bereits im Datenmanagementplan festgelegt.
Die Forschungsdaten kommen dabei aus allen geisteswissenschaftlichen Disziplinen. Besonderer Schwerpunkt und Expertise liegt im Themenbereich Digitale Edition auf Basis von XML/TEI und entsprechender Visualisierung und Weiterverarbeitung, also dem Quellenmaterial “Text” in jeder Form.
Möchte man neue entstehende Daten in GAMS ablegen, ist der logische Weg also ein gemeinsames Förderansuchen mit dem Zentrum für Informationsmodellierung. Für die Übernahme bereits bestehender Daten können bei entsprechender Expertise am Zentrum eine Aufwands- und damit Kostenschätzung vorgenommen werden, um die Daten integrieren zu können.
Muster Deposition Agreement (Englisch)
Muster Datenmanagementplan (Englisch)

Wie werden Daten dauerhaft kuratiert und erhalten?

Die abgelegten Forschungsdaten werden im Einklang mit der Forschungsdatenpolicy der Uni Graz und den Vorgaben der meisten Fördergeber zumindest für 10 Jahre gesichert. Durch die Begleitung der Datenerstellung wird normalerweise ein sehr hohes Level an Datenkuratierung erreicht. Alle Daten unterliegen den gleichen Bestimmungen für die Langzeitarchivierung.
Die Entwicklung und Wartung der projektspezifischen Weboberflächen zur Präsentation und Analyse der Daten ist auf jeden Fall für die Dauer der Kooperation gesichert. Wir bemühen uns bereits in der Entwicklung zu berücksichtigen, dass diese auch nach Ende der Förderperiode noch dauerhaft verfüg- und benutzbar bleiben und erzielen hier derzeit gute Ergebnisse. Allerdings können in der sich schnell verändernden Webentwicklung und bei Sicherheitsproblemen keine weitergehenden Garantien übernommen werden. Dies betrifft jedoch nur die projektspezifischen Weboberflächen; die Daten selbst bleiben davon unberührt und auf jeden Fall verfügbar.
Für die Ergänzung oder Überarbeitung von bestehenden Daten und Interfaces muss individuell eine spezifische Aufwandsschätzung durchgeführt werden.

Bekenntnis zu Open Access

Wir unterstützen den offenen Zugang zu Quellen des menschlichen Wissens und des kulturellen Erbes (vgl. Berliner Erklärung und Open Access Policy der Universität Graz). Um die Vision einer globalen und zugänglichen Darstellung des Wissens zu verwirklichen, muss dieses nachhaltig, interaktiv, transparent und offen zugänglich sein. Daher werden die über GAMS verfügbaren Daten - in Abstimmung mit den Depositor:innen - unter möglichst offenen Creative Commons Lizenzen (CC-BY oder CC-BY-NC) veröffentlicht. Die abgeleiteten Dublin Core Metadaten stehen unter der Lizenz CC0.
Sofern es sich bei den Forschungsdaten um sensible Daten (wie z.B. persönliche Daten) handelt, gewährleistet das Repositorium, dass solche Datensätze nicht oder nur mit geeigneten Schutzmaßnahmen (z.B. Anonymisierung) zugänglich sind (vgl. Datenschutzerklärung der Universität Graz).
Sollte das Repositorium von einer Verletzung von Verwertungs- oder Persönlichkeitsrechten im Kontext der zur Verfügung gestellten Daten Kenntnis erlangen, wird der Zugang zu den betroffenen Datensätzen umgehend gesperrt und die Depositor:innen verständigt um angemessene Schritte zu setzen.

Wie kann auf die Daten zugegriffen werden?

Für BenutzerInnen ist der erste Zugriffspunkt normalerweise die grafische Benutzeroberfläche des jeweiligen Projektes. Diese bietet zugeschnittene und vorstrukturierte Zugangswege um mit den Ressourcen zu interagieren. Zusätzlich kann das Fedora backend unter http://gams.uni-graz.at/archive/search abgefragt werden.
Um Daten systematisch zu harvesten oder in eigene Kontexte zu integrieren kann die OAI-PMH Schnittstelle unter http://gams.uni-graz.at/oaiprovider verwendet und nach den Regeln des PMH abgefragt werden (vgl. die Dokumentation hier). Zur Zeit werden drei Metadatenpräfixe unterstützt: oai_dc (Dublin Core), oai_europeana (Europeana Semantic Elements) und oai_edm (Europeana Data Model).
Alle Bilddateien im Repositorium können auch über den IIIF-kompatiblen Image Server ausgeliefert werden. Hierfür muss die folgende Syntax verwendet werden: http://gams.uni-graz.at/iiif/{object PID}/{image PID}/{IIIF query}, z.B.: http://gams.uni-graz.at/iiif/o:sis.2-10%2FIMAGE.1/100,1000,2880,2000/pct:15/0/default.jpg.
In Absprache mit den Projektpartnern können die Daten auch an verschiedene Aggregationsprojekte geliefert werden, beispielsweise Europeana, CorrespSearch, Pelagios oder Nomisma. Mögliche rechtliche Fragen zu den verwendeten Inhalten werden im Projektverlauf mit den Partnern geklärt; normalerweise werden alle Resourcen unter einer nicht-kommerziellen Creative Commons Lizenz geführt (Creative Commons BY-NC 4.0). Das Zentrum bietet dabei auch Consulting und Unterstützung in den Bereichen Urheberrecht und Lizensierung.

Wie können Datenobjekte persistent adressiert werden?

Intern werden Datenobjekte unter einem persistent identifier (PID) in Form eines projektspezifischen Permalinks verspeichert. Zusätzlich inkludiert die GAMS-Infrastruktur einen Handle Server, der die Möglichkeit bietet, auch in diesem System einen permanenten Identifikator anzulegen (Präfix 11471).

Wie sieht der Arbeitsablauf und ein Datenlebenszyklus in der GAMS aus?

Die nachfolgende Grafik zeigt den Lebenszyklus von Daten im GAMS Repositorium.

GAMS Workflow und Datenlebenszyklus
GAMS Workflow und Datenlebenszyklus

Ist GAMS ein vertrauenswürdiges digitales Archiv (trusted digital repository) und wie ist es zertifiziert?

GAMS wurde 2014 erstmals als vertrauenswürdiges digitales Archiv nach den Richtlinien des Data Seal of Approval zertifiziert. Seit 2019 tragen wir das CoreTrustSeal. Im Jahr 2020 wurde GAMS offiziell als CLARIN B Centre anerkannt. GAMS ist auch bei der Registry of Research Data Repositories und OpenDOAR registriert.

Wo kann ich mehr über die Infrastruktur erfahren und kann sie weiterverwendet werden?

Das gesamte Infrastrukturpaket ist als Beitrag zu DARIAH-EU als Open Source Software unter https://github.com/acdh/cirilo zur Nachnutzung verfügbar. Eine umfangreiche Dokumentation kann auf dieser Seite unter http://gams.uni-graz.at/docs abgerufen werden (auf Englisch).

Release: 2018
Last Update: 2022-04-05