Cantus Network

libri ordinarii of the Salzburg metropolitan province (Beta-Version)

Feedback

St. Nikola

The Liber ordinarius of Mengotus from the Augustinian monastery St. Nikola outside Passau.

In the diocese of Passau, there was a strong response to the movement of Augustinian canons initiated by Pope Gregory VII (†1085) at the Lateran synod of 1059. Bishop Altmann (†1091) subsequently founded the (Augustinian) chapter of canons regular St. Nikola outside Passau's city gates (around 1067). This community was to be both the model and the educational establishment for the cathedral and diocesan clergy, spreading the ideas of the Gregorian church reform. The movement of canons initiated by Altmann was influential far beyond the borders of the diocese. Around 50 years later, Archbishop Konrad I of Salzburg (†1147) became a proponent of this movement. He changed Salzburg's cathedral chapter, which hitherto had been inhabited by canons who did not follow a particular rule, into a chapter of Augustinian canons regular. Many monasteries, including from the diocese of Passau, joined the group of Salzburg canons initiated by Konrad.


The Liber ordinarius of Mengotus (A-Wn Cod. 1482), written down around 1150-60, belonged to the library of Salzburg's cathedral chapter until 1806. Counter to earlier ascriptions, this Liber ordinarius can be identified as clearly from St. Nikola in Passau. The codex is famous as the earliest source of the German vernacular Easter song "Christ ist erstanden". "Mengotus" includes a liturgy of the Passau canons. It sets out the following formulary for the feast of the monastery's patron saint: "In festo s. Nicolai ad vesperas R. Beatus Nicolaus. Te deum laudamus et Gloria in excelsis dicitur. Officium Statuit ei. Festive omnia sicut de apostolo. … Postea de s. Andrea". St. Nicholas's Day is celebrated as a solemnity and the octave of the monastery's second patron saint, Andrew, is commemorated. Furthermore, there are formularies for the main feast day of St. Andrew (including a vigil on the preceding day and notes for the days of the octave after St. Andrew's Day) and for Pantaleon (the monastery's third patron saint, "novem lectiones et non vacatur"). The feast of St. James (patron saint of the monastery's parish church St. Jakobus) is emphasised particularly. The first Christmas mass took place "ad sanctam Mariam", in the church of St. Nikola's infirmary. The Second Vespers of Christmas commemorates St. Stephen "ad sanctum Stephanum" – the altar dedicated to this saint. In 1227, an endowment was made for this altar, which already existed. Architectural history verifies the existence of an atrium (porch, westwork) mentioned in the Palm Sunday procession.

The abovementioned scribe Mengotus immortalised himself at the end of the Liber ordinarius: "Obsecro te, quicumque hec legeris vel transscripseris memento in bonum Mengoti peccatoris …". In the regesta of the bishops of Passau, Egon Boshof mentions a Mengotus, a canon and archdean of Passau, who appears as a witness in documents after 1187. Perhaps this cathedral canon is the same person as the scribe who produced the ordo.

The Liber ordinarius of St. Nikola was the model for both the Passau and the Salzburg rulebook. All ordinarii have numerous liturgical comments in common. Furthermore, the rulebooks from St. Nikola, the Passau chapters of canons (A-Gu 208, fragmentary ordo from St. Florian) and the cathedral and diocese (incl. A-SPA 83/3) share a largely consistent liturgical tradition. The so-called "world seasons bracket" (a report on the "sex aetas") links "Mengotus" to ordinarii dependent on Salzburg (Salzburg, Vorau, Suben, Ranshofen, Waldhausen and St. Florian). Furthermore, both the diocesan and the canonical traditions exhibit a clear dependency on the 11th-century liturgical developments in the region around Lake Constance, which were initiated in south-eastern Germany in Altmann's time, not only during the Hirsau reform. Thus the earliest sources contain the "Rheinau" special offices for Pope Gregory, Afra, Maurice (Mauritius) and Gallus. Furthermore, many rubrics were adopted from the Micrologus by Bernold of Constance (†1100). Bernold and Altmann were like minds and staunch supporters of the Gregorian Reform. In some rubrics, "Mengotus" mentions Pope Gregory VII as an authority and quotes from his "Regula canonica", which among other things sets out the rules for the communal, propertyless life of canons determined at the Lateran synod.

Until recently, no medieval or early modern musical-liturgical sources from St. Nikola were known. Three 15th-century breviaries without musical notation, now held in the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek in Munich under shelfmarks Clm 16141-16143, convey a comprehensive picture of St. Nikola's liturgical tradition. A breviary (winter part) with unlined neume notation in use in the milieu of St. Nikola has survived in the library of the Augustinian monastery of Vorau (Styria), where it bears the shelfmark 90. This lavishly illuminated codex was probably created in the last quarter of the 13th century. It also contains special chants for Valentine, the patron saint of the diocese of Passau, and for the monastery's two patron saints Andrew and Nicholas, including the cantioNicolai solemnia sua praesens familia for the latter. The neumed antiphonary Bayerische Staatsbibliothek Clm 16141 is noteworthy. This book of chant, written around 1300, was in use in a monastery parish of St. Nikola. It is one of the oldest sources of offices with musical notation for Passau's diocesan liturgy. An elaborate choir missal, which is now held in Melk monastery library under the shelfmark 74 and was probably produced in the last quarter of the 15th century, also contains references to St. Nikola. However, it seems unlikely that it was intended for monastic use, as it contains a Passau diocesan, not a canonical tradition.

A processional produced in 1593 can be attributed clearly to the canons of Passau. This book, written in lined Gothic chant notation, is now held in the State Library of Upper Austria in Linz under manuscript shelfmark 209. The small-format codex is made up of 164 numbered folios and contains only chants that were performed during the daily processions in the monastery and in the vicinity of St. Nikola. What is interesting is that the repertory of texts and melodies continues to reflect the medieval liturgical tradition. The title page is decorated with the coat of arms of Provost Abraham Anzengruber (held office 1585-1599) and the year 1593, and contains the following text: "Responsorium. In usum Monasterii S. Nicolai extra muros Passavienses". The contemporary binding is marked with a blind stamp of the provost's coat of arms and the year 1588, the insignia "A" and the text "DOMINUS PRAEPOSITUS NICOL[AI] ABRAHAMUS ÄNTZENGRUEBER" running from cover to cover across the spine.

The order of chants in the processional follows the church year, with the feasts of Jesus Christ and those of saints in separate sections. Numerous rubrics draw attention to particular occasions, processional routes and places or chapels. Thus a procession to the crypt of the monastery church took place on Christmas Eve (as well as on other feast days). During the procession, the "rectores" (the directors of the schola) performed the trope "Facturae plasmator et conditor" as a solo chant. For the solemn procession on Palm Sunday, the first station of which was a chapel, the various actors involved are listed: they include not only the rector, but the "pueri" (choirboys), who sang the hymn "Gloria laus et honor". The following day the boys performed the hymn "Tellus ac aethra". On Good Friday, the Improperia were sung in turn by "duo regentes", "chorus puerorum" and the "chorus". This was followed by the veneration of the Cross by the "clero et praeposito" (the clergy and provost) and the adoration at the Holy Sepulchre. On Easter Saturday, the choirboys and the choir alternatim sang the hymn "Inventor ruti", followed by the saints' litany "circa baptisterium". The processional routes of the Easter vigil – to the Holy Sepulchre, the entrance and the choir of the church – are described in detail; here, the cantor is referred to for the first time. Strikingly, the chants for the Visitatio sepulchri, which were widespread during the Middle Ages, are not mentioned. It is possible that this custom was not longer common in the late 16th century. For the time after Easter, a few suffrages follow for the Holy Virgin, the patron saints Andrew, Pantaleon and Nicholas, and the order's patron saint Augustine. The section with the chants for the petitionary processions before Ascension Day mentions the monastery's parish church St. Jakob and suggests a chant from the saint's special office. Further rubrics added in 1631 refer to stations "ad sanctum Ioannem" (the Johannesspital [infirmary] at the Rindermarkt) and "ad sanctum Paulum" (the parish church of St. Paul at the entrance to the cathedral precinct). The procession ended "ad sanctum Stephanum", that is, in the cathedral. The following day, the route led from the Heiliggeist-Spitalkirche (the infirmary church in the Heiliggeistgasse) to the cathedral and then back to St. Nikola via St. Jakob (Bahnhofsstraße). On Ascension Day and Whit Sunday, processions were made "ad insulam". Here, the procession visited a little church dedicated to Mary Magdalene that was located on the left bank of the River Inn (the site of today's railway bridge) and belonged to St. Nikola. In this church, completely surrounded by the river, the scholares sang verses of the hymn "Salve festa dies". On Corpus Christi the following week, the festive procession once again made a stop in St. Jakob. The Sanctorale starts with "In festivitate D. Nicolai patroni nostri". Chants from the special office for St. Florian are particularly interesting; this source is the only one to transmit them with their melodies. This historia originated in the Augustine monastery of St. Florian near Linz. The manuscript is also the only source of chants with melodies for the monastery's patron saint Pantaleon. St. Agatha also seems to have held particular significance, and thus the suffrages include a responsory for her. It is possible that Agatha's prominence has to do with the old monastery parish of Aidenbach, whose church is dedicated to Agatha.

Processionals usually contain not only the chants performed while walking, but also those required at the various stations (e.g. chants for mass in the station churches, for commemoration at special altars, for particular rites such as the washing of feet on Maundy Thursday or the procession of candles on the feast of the Purification of the Virgin). For these special rites, chants composed solely for this purpose were provided. However, the greater part of the processionals is made up of responsories, antiphons and hymns from the regular office repertory of the institution in question. Thus the large responsories of Matins were used first and foremost. For the Temporale, these are usually the generally common chants. An institution's Proprium is determined by the selection for the respective feast. The chants for the Sanctorale are more interesting, especially if taken from historiae (usually rhymed special offices) for locally important saints. For St. Nikola, these historiae include those for Mary, Mary Magdalene, Jakob, Anna, Augustine, Empress Kunigunde and Ursula, besides the abovementioned ones for Florian and Pantaleon.

by Robert Klugseder

Ansicht wählen:

Cantus Network

libri ordinarii of the Salzburg metropolitan province (Beta-Version)

Feedback

St. Nikola

Der Liber ordinarius des Mengotus aus dem Augustiner­chorherrenkloster St. Nikola vor Passau.

In der Diözese Passau erfuhr die von Papst Gregor VII. (†1085) auf der Lateran­synode von 1059 initiierte Chorherrenbewegung große Resonanz. Bischof Altmann (†1091) gründete in der Folge das regulierte (Augustiner-) Chor­herren­kloster St. Nikola vor den Stadttoren Passaus (um 1067). Die Gemein­schaft sollte Ausbildungsstätte und Vorbild für den Dom- und Diözesan­klerus sein und die Ideen der Gregorianischen Kirchenreform vermitteln. Die durch Altmann initiierte Chorherrenbewegung strahlte weit über die Diözesangrenzen hinaus. Etwa 50 Jahre später stellte sich Erzbischof Konrad I. von Salzburg (†1147) vor diese Bewegung. Er wandelte das mit unregulierten Chorherren besetzte Salzburger Domstift in ein reguliertes Augustiner­chorherrenstift um. Viele Klöster, auch aus der Diözese Passau, schlossen sich dem von Konrad initiierten Salzburger Chorherrenverband an.


Der Liber ordinarius des Mengotus (A-Wn Cod. 1482), um 1150-60 niedergeschrieben, war bis 1806 Teil der Domkapitelbibliothek Salzburg. Ent­gegen älterer Zuschreibungen kann dieser Liber ordinarius eindeutig nach St. Nikola Passau verortet werden. Der Codex ist bekannt als das früheste Zeugnis des deutschsprachigen Osterliedes „Christ ist erstanden“. „Mengotus“ enthält eine Passauer Chorherrenliturgie. Für das Fest des Klosterpatrons ist folgendes Formular vorgesehen: „In festo s. Nicolai ad vesperas R. Beatus Nicolaus. Te deum laudamus et Gloria in excelsis dicitur. Officium Statuit ei. Festive omnia sicut de apostolo. … Postea de s. Andrea“. Nikolaus wird als Hochfest gefeiert, die Oktavfeier des zweiten Klosterpatrons Andreas kommemoriert. Zudem sind Formulare für das Hauptfest des hl. Andreas (mit Vigil am Vortag und Angaben für die Tage in der Oktav nach Andreas) sowie für Pantaleon vorhanden (dritter Klosterpatron, „novem lectiones et non vacatur“). Das Fest des hl. Jakobus (Patron der Klosterpfarrkirche) ist besonders hervorgehoben. Die erste Weihnachtsmesse fand „ad sanctam Mariam“ statt, der Spitalkirche von St. Nikola. In der zweiten Weihnachtsvesper wird der hl. Stephanus ad „sanctum Stephanum“ kommemoriert. Im Jahr 1227 wird diesem damals bereits bestehenden Stephanusaltar eine Stiftung zu Teil. Ein bei der Palmprozession erwähntes Atrium (Vorhalle, Westbau) der Klosterkirche ist bauhistorisch ge­sichert.

Der bereits erwähnte Schreiber Mengotus hat sich am Ende des Liber ordinarius verewigt: „Obsecro te, quicumque hec legeris vel transscripseris memento in bonum Mengoti peccatoris …“. In den Regesten der Passauer Bischöfe erwähnt Egon Boshof einen Mengotus, Passauer Kanoniker und Archidiakon, der nach 1187 als Zeuge in Urkunden auftritt. Vielleicht ist in diesem Domkanoniker der Schreiber des Ordo identifiziert.

Der Liber ordinarius von St. Nikola war Vorbild für den Passauer und auch für den Salzburger Regeltext. Allen Ordinarii sind zahlreiche liturgische Kommentare gemein. Darüber hinaus ist eine weitgehend übereinstimmende liturgische Tradition Bestandteil der Regelbücher aus St. Nikola, der Passauer Chor­herrenklöster (A-Gu 208, fragmentarischer Ordo aus St. Florian) und der Domkirche bzw. der Diözese (u.a. A-SPA 83/3). Die sogenannte „Weltzeiten­klammer“ (Bericht über die „sex aetas“) verbindet „Mengotus“ mit Ordinarii, die von Salzburg abhängig sind (Salzburg, Vorau, Suben, Ranshofen, Waldhausen und St. Florian). Beide Diözesan- und die Chorherrentraditionen zeigen zudem eine deutliche Abhängigkeit von den liturgischen Entwicklungen des Bodenseeraumes des 11. Jahrhunderts, die nicht erst durch die Hirsauer Reformklöster, sondern bereits zur Zeit Altmanns im deutschen Südosten initiiert wurde. So beinhalten die frühesten Quellen die „Rheinauer“ Sonderoffizien für Papst Gregor, für Afra, Mauritius und Gallus. Ferner wurden zahlreiche Rubriken aus dem Micrologus des Bernold von Konstanz (†1100) übernommen. Bernold und Altmann waren Weggefährten und überzeugte Anhänger der Gregoria­nischen Reform. In einigen Rubriken nennt „Mengotus“ Papst Gregor VII. als Autorität und zitiert aus Gregors „Regula canonica“, in der u.a. das auf der Lateran­synode beschlossene besitzlose Zusammenleben von Kanonikern festgelegt ist.

Musik-liturgische Quellen aus dem Mittelalter bzw. der frühen Neuzeit aus St. Nikola waren bis vor Kurzem nicht bekannt. Drei Breviere ohne musikalische Notation aus dem 15. Jahrhundert, die heute unter den Signaturen Clm 16141-16143 in der bayerischen Staatsbibliothek München aufbewahrt werden, vermitteln einen umfassenden Eindruck von der liturgischen Tradition St. Nikolas. In der Bibliothek des Augustinerchorherrenklosters Vorau (Steiermark) ist unter der Signatur 90 ein mit linienloser Neumennotation ausgestattetes Brevier (Winterteil) erhalten, das im Umfeld von St. Nikola in Gebrauch war. Der aufwändig illuminierte Codex wurde vermutlich im vierten Viertel des 13. Jahrhunderts hergestellt. Dieser enthält auch besondere Gesänge für den Passauer Diözesanpatron Valentin sowie für die beiden Klosterpatrone Andreas und Nikolaus, für Letzteren die Cantio Nicolai solemnia sua praesens familia. Bemerkenswert ist das neumierte Antiphonar Clm 16141 der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek München. Das um 1300 angefertigte Gesangbuch war in einer Klosterpfarre von St. Nikola in Gebrauch. Es stellt eine der ältesten Offiziumsquellen mit musikalischer Notation für die Passauer Diözesan­liturgie dar. Ein kunstvoll ausgestattetes Chormissale, das heute unter der Signatur 74 in der Stiftsbibliothek Melk aufbewahrt wird und im vierten Viertel des 15. Jahrhunderts entstanden sein dürfte, enthält ebenfalls Hinweise auf St. Nikola. Eine Verwendung im Kloster erscheint jedoch fraglich, da es wiederum eine Passauer Diözesan- und keine Chorherrentradition beinhaltet.

Eindeutig dem Gebrauch der Passauer Chorherren zuweisen lässt sich ein 1593 hergestelltes Prozessionar. Das mit gotischer Choralnotation auf Linien notierte Buch wird heute unter der Handschriftensignatur 209 in der Oberöster­reichischen Landesbibliothek Linz aufbewahrt. Der kleinformatige Codex enthält 164 gezählte Folien und ausschließlich Gesänge, die bei den täglichen Prozessionen im Kloster und im näheren Umfeld von St. Nikola, zum Vortrag kamen. Interessant ist, dass das Textrepertoire und die Melodien immer noch die mittelalterliche liturgische Tradition wiederspiegeln. Das mit dem Wappen des Propstes Abraham Anzengruber (regiert 1585-1599) und der Jahreszahl 1593 ausgestattete Titelblatt enthält nachfolgenden Text: „Responsorium. In usum Monasterii S. Nicolai extra muros Passavienses“. Der zeitgenössische Einband trägt als Blindstempel ebenfalls das Wappen des Propstes mit der Jahreszahl 1588, die Insignien „A A“ und den umlaufenden Text: „DOMINUS PRAEPOSITUS NICOL[AI] ABRAHAMUS ÄNTZENGRUEBER“.

Der Ablauf der Gesänge im Prozessionar folgt dem Kirchenjahr, wobei Herren- und Heiligenfeste getrennt voneinander berücksichtigt wurden. Etliche Rubriken weisen auf besondere Anlässe, Prozessionswege oder Orte bzw. Kapellen hin. So fand in der Christnacht (und an weiteren Festtagen) eine Prozession in die Krypta der Klosterkirche statt. Dabei trugen die „Rectores“ (Leiter der Schola) als besonderen Sologesang den Tropus „Facturae plasmator et conditor“ vor. Bei der feierlichen Prozession am Palmsonntag, die zu Beginn in eine Kapelle führte, werden die verschiedenen Akteure genannt: Neben dem Rektor waren die „pueri“ (Sängerknaben) beteiligt, die den Hymnus „Gloria laus et honor“ zu singen hatten, an den darauffolgenden Tagen den Hymnus „Tellus ac aethra“. Am Karfreitag wurden die Improperien im Wechsel von „duo regentes“, „chorus puerorum“ und dem „chorus“ gesungen. Danach folgte die Kreuzverehrung des „clero et praeposito“ (Geistliche und Propst) und die Anbetung am hl. Grab. Am Karsamstag sangen der Knabenchor und der Chor alternatim den Hymnus „Inventor rutili“, anschließend folgte die Heiligen­litanei „circa baptisterium“. Ausführlich werden die Prozessionswege in der Osternacht zum hl. Grab, zum Eingang und zum Chor der Kirche beschrieben, wobei hier zum ersten Mal der Kantor genannt wird. Bemerkenswert ist, dass die im Mittelalter weit verbreiteten Gesänge für die Visitatio sepulchri nicht erwähnt werden. Es ist gut möglich, dass dieser Brauch am Ende des 16. Jahrhunderts nicht mehr üblich war. Für die Zeit nach Ostern folgen nun einige Suffragialgesänge für Maria, die Patrone Andreas, Pantaleon und Nikolaus sowie für den Ordenspatron Augustinus. Bei den Gesängen für die Bittprozessionen vor Christi Himmelfahrt wird die Kloster­pfarrkirche St. Jakob erwähnt und ein Gesang aus dem Sonderoffizium für den Heiligen vorgeschlagen. Weitere, im Jahr 1631 hinzugefügte Rubriken verweisen auf Stationes „ad sanctum Ioannem“ (Johannesspital am Rindermarkt) und „ad sanctum Paulum“ (Stadtpfarrkirche St. Paul am Eingang zum Dombezirk). Die Prozession endete „ad sanctum Stephanum“, also in der Domkirche. Am folgenden Tag führte der Weg über die Heilig­Geist­Spitalkirche (Heiliggeistgasse) zum Dom und über St. Jakob (Bahnhofsstraße) zurück nach St. Nikola. An Christi Himmelfahrt und Pfingsten führten Prozessionen „ad insulam“. Hier wurde eine kleine Kirche zu Ehren Maria Magdalenas besucht, die sich am linken Innufer (auf Höhe der heutigen Eisenbahnbrücke) befand und zu St. Nikola gehörte. In der vollständig vom Inn umfluteten Kirche sangen die Scholares Strophen des Hymnus „Salve festa dies“. Am Fronleichnamsfest der folgenden Woche hielt die festliche Prozession wiederum eine Statio in St. Jakob. Das Sanctorale beginnt mit „In festivitate D. Nicolai patroni nostri“. Herausragend sind Gesänge aus dem Sonderoffizium für den hl. Florian, die hier zum Teil unikal mit Melodien überliefert sind. Der Ursprung dieser Historia ist im Augustinerchorherrenkloster St. Florian bei Linz zu finden. Nur hier mit Melodien überliefert sind zudem Gesänge für den Klosterpatron Pantaleon. Eine besondere Bedeutung scheint auch der hl. Agatha zugekommen zu sein. So ist unter den Suffragialgesängen ein Responsorium für die Heilige vorgesehen. Es ist gut möglich, dass die hervor­gehobene Stellung Agathas mit der alten Klosterpfarre Aidenbach zu tun hat, deren Kirche ein Agathapatrozinium führt.

Prozessionare enthalten in der Regel nicht nur Gesänge, die während des Gehens zum Vortrag kamen, sondern auch solche, die an den Stationen notwendig waren (z.B. Gesänge für die Messe in Stationskirchen, zur Kommemo­ratio an besonderen Altären, für besondere Riten wie die Fußwaschung am Grün­donnerstag oder die Lichter­prozession an Maria Reinigung). Für diese besonderen Riten waren auch nur für diesen Zweck komponierte Gesänge vorgesehen. Der größere Teil der Prozessionare besteht jedoch aus Responsorien, Antiphonen und Hymnen aus dem regulären Offiziumsrepertoire der betreffenden Institution. So fanden vor allem die großen Responsorien der Matutin Verwendung. Für das Temporale sind das in der Regel allgemein übliche Gesänge. Das Proprium einer Institution wird durch die Auswahl für das jeweilige Fest bestimmt. Interessanter sind hingegen die Gesänge für das Sanctorale, vorallem wenn man diese aus Historiae (meist gereimte Sonderoffizien) für lokal bedeutende Heilige entnahm. Für St. Nikola sind das neben den bereits erwähnten Historiae für Florian und Pantaleon die für Maria, Maria Magdalena, Jakob, Anna, Augustinus, Kaiserin Kunigunde und Ursula.

von Robert Klugseder

zur Übertragung des Liber ordinarius