Cantus Network

libri ordinarii of the Salzburg metropolitan province (Beta-Version)

Feedback

Regensburg

A Liber ordinarius for the cathedral church and diocese of Regensburg.

The manuscript München Bayerische Staatsbibliothek Clm 26947 contains not only a calendar, but a Liber ordinarius for use in Regensburg's episcopal church. The Incipit contains a clear reference to Regensburg: Incipit breviarium secundum ordinem Ratisbonensem. This manuscript is the only surviving complete copy of the rulebook. The codex was kept in the Biblioteca Publica Ratisbonensis until 1876, when it was moved to Munich's court library.


The locations, altars and other items mentioned in the Liber ordinarius clearly refer to the cathedral of St. Peter and the neighbouring sacred spaces in the cathedral precinct (the collegiate church of St. Johannes, cloisters, cathedral monastery, the chapel of St. Stephanus, the Allerheiligenkapelle etc.). Apart from a few exceptions, the liturgical tradition transmitted here was also customarily used in the diocese. The various locations mentioned held no concrete significance for other churches, of course. At the time the ordo was written down, the cathedral was still being built. By reconstructing processional routes and comparing the ordo with the known phases of the cathedral's construction, we can date the codex's compilation to approximately the period between 1340 and 1380.

Among the codex's many special liturgical features, the ritual acts performed at the cathedral's choir screen, built in 1320, stand out particularly. They focused upon the two screen altars, dedicated to the Holy Cross and the Virgin Mary respectively. This is also where the Planctus Mariae took place on Good Friday. This Lamentatio was probably introduced at the behest of the cathedral canon Konrad von Megenberg (1309-1374), who became familiar with this custom during his sojourns in France. Megenberg is also the author of liturgical treatises as well as a vita and a historia for the local Regensburg saint Erhard (these were not included in the Liber ordinarius). The instructions for the diocese's patron saint Wolfgang's feast set out two masses, but the historia by Hermannus Contractus was not customarily used during the liturgy of the hours (nor was Hermannus's historia for St. Emmeram on that saint's feast day). Besides the cathedral's patron St. Peter, St. Stephen is particularly significant and is treated like a second patron saint (cf. the chapel of St. Stephanus in the cloisters). The high number of liturgical functionaries is unusual: the bishop, canons, provost, dean, choir, schola, cantors etc., as well as ad minus duodecim canonicis sancti Ioannis. Another interesting feature is the mention of a makeshift wooden tabernacle (truca) in the vestry for the period from Maundy Thursday to Easter Saturday. Instead of the usual washing of the feet of the poor on Maundy Thursday, in Regensburg Cathedral the feet of the cathedral canons, venerable laymen and citizens were washed. These individuals were offered wine and mead as gifts among other things: … Deinde iterum veniat cellerarius cum iunioribus adultis et portent in novis scutellis primo seniori, deinde omnibus canonicis clericis ibi sedentibus et laicis honestis et civibus quattuor poma et duas oblatas et picarium vini et medonis

The Dominican monk Albertus Magnus's activity as Bishop of Regensburg (1260-1262) presumably is the reason why celebrations for the saints of this order were included in the cathedral liturgy. Furthermore, a special office for St. Blasius, the patron saint of Regensburg's Dominican church, was customary. Other special liturgical features include special chants for St. Florinus from the Vinschgau in South Tyrol, whose relics were already brought to Regensburg in the 10th century, as well as two feast days for the Visitatio Mariae (28 April and 2 July) and St. Thomas Becket (28 December and the translatio on 14 July). Of course the feast of the cathedral's dedication on 30 June is also present. An extensive collection of processional chants (ad suffragium) on Trinity Sunday is typical of the liturgy both in the cathedral and in the diocese. The unusual collocation of the Nocturn antiphons for John the Evangelist (27 December) and the octave is a further distinctive liturgical feature.

The compiler of the Liber ordinarius immortalised himself in the following final sentence: Explicit breviarius per manus et non per pedes. Presumably he wishes to highlight the scribe's arduous task, which could not be completed simply "in passing" or on the side.

by Robert Klugseder

Ansicht wählen:

Cantus Network

libri ordinarii of the Salzburg metropolitan province (Beta-Version)

Feedback

Regensburg

Ein Liber Ordinarius für die Kathedralkirche und die Diözese Regensburg

Die Handschrift München Bayerische Staatsbibliothek Clm 26947 beinhaltet neben einem Kalendar einen Liber Ordinarius für den Gebrauch in der Regensburger Bischofskirche. Das Incipit verweist eindeutig auf Regensburg: Incipit breviarium secundum ordinem Ratisbonensem. Es handelt sich hier um die einzige erhaltene und vollständige Kopie des Regelbuchs. Der Codex wurde bis 1876 in der Biblioteca Publica Ratisbonensis aufbewahrt und kam erst in dem genannten Jahr an die Hofbibliothek in München


Die im Liber Ordinarius genannten Örtlichkeiten, Altäre und sonstigen Einrichtungsgegenstände beziehen sich eindeutig auf die Kathedralkirche St. Peter und die benachbarten Sakralräume des Dombezirks (Kollegiatkirche St. Johannes, Kreuzgang, Domkloster, Kapelle des hl. Stephanus, Allerheiligenkapelle etc.). Bis auf wenige Ausnahmen war die hier tradierte liturgische Tradition auch in der Diözese üblich. Die verschiedenen Ortsangaben hatten für andere Kirchen natürlich keine konkrete Bedeutung. Der Dom befand sich zur Zeit der Niederschrift des Ordo noch im Bau. Durch die Rekonstruktion von Prozessionswegen und den Vergleich mit bekannten Phasen des Kathedralbaus lässt sich der Zeitraum der Kompilation des Codex in etwa mit den Jahren 1340 und 1380 eingrenzen.

Neben vielen liturgischen Besonderheiten ragen vor allem die rituellen Handlungen am 1320 erbauten Lettner der Domkirche heraus. Im Mittelpunkt standen hier die beiden Lettneraltäre zu Ehren des Heiligen Kreuzes und Marias. Hier fand am Karfreitag auch der Planctus Mariae statt. Diese Lamentatio wurde vermutlich auf Veranlassung des Domkanonikers Konrad von Megenberg (1309-1374) eingeführt, der diesen Brauch bei seinen Aufenthalten in Frankreich kennenlernen konnte. Megenberg ist zudem Autor von liturgischen Abhandlungen sowie einer Vita und einer Historia für den Regensburger Heiligen Erhard (die im Liber Ordinarius keine Berücksichtigung fanden). Am Festtag des Diözesanpatrons Wolfgang sind zwei Messen vorgesehen, die Historia von Hermannus Contractus für das Stundengebet war hier jedoch ebenso unüblich wie die für den hl. Emmeram. Neben dem Dompatron Petrus nimmt Stephanus eine besondere Bedeutung ein, er wird wie ein zweiter Patron behandelt (vgl. Stephanus-Kapelle im Kreuzgang). Ungewöhnlich ist die hohe Anzahl an liturgischen Funktionsträgern: Bischof, Kanoniker, Domprobst, Domdekan, Chor, Schola, Kantoren etc., auch: ad minus duodecim canonicis sancti Ioannis. Interessant ist die Erwähnung eines hölzernen Behelfstabernakels (truca) in der Sakristei für die Zeit von Gründonnerstag bis Karsamstag. Anstelle der allgemein üblichen Armenfußwaschung am Gründonnerstag trat im Regensburger Dom die von Domkanonikern, ehrwürdigen Laien und Bürgern, denen als Geschenk unter anderen Wein und Met überreicht wurde: … Deinde iterum veniat cellerarius cum iunioribus adultis et portent in novis scutellis primo seniori, deinde omnibus canonicis clericis ibi sedentibus et laicis honestis et civibus quattuor poma et duas oblatas et picarium vini et medonis

Die Tätigkeit des Dominikaners Albertus Magnus als Bischof von Regensburg (reg. 1260-1262) ist vermutlich die Ursache, weshalb man Feiern für Heilige des Ordens in die Liturgie der Domkirche aufnahm. Zudem war ein Sonderoffizium für den hl. Blasius, den Patron der Regensburger Dominikanerkirche, üblich. Weitere liturgische Besonderheiten sind Sondergesänge für den hl. Florinus aus dem Vintschgau, dessen Reliquien bereits im 10. Jahrhundert nach Regensburg kamen. Zudem jeweils zwei Festtage für die Visitatio Mariae (28. April und 2. Juli) und für den hl. Bischof Thomas Canturiensis (28. Dezember und die Translatio am 14. Juli). Vorhanden ist natürlich auch das Fest der Domkirchweihe am 30. Juni. Sowohl für die Dom- als auch für die Diözesanliturgie charakteristisch ist eine umfangreiche Sammlung von Prozessionsgesängen (ad suffragium) an Trinitatis. Liturgieprägend ist die außergewöhnliche Zusammenstellung der Nocturnantiphonen für Johannes Ev. (27. Dezember) und den Octavtag.

Der Kompilator des Liber Ordinarius hat sich mit folgendem Schlusssatz verewigt: Explicit breviarius per manus et non per pedes. Vermutlich möchte er damit die anstrengende Arbeit eines Schreibers herausheben, die man nicht einfach „im Vorbeigehen“ oder nebenher erledigen konnte.

von Robert Klugseder

zur Übertragung des Liber ordinarius