Cantus Network

libri ordinarii of the Salzburg metropolitan province (Beta-Version)

Feedback

Hartkirchen

The Amtsbuch of the parish of Hartkirchen.

A remarkable and rare testimony to the liturgical practice of a rural parish is a „Pfarramtsbuch“ (parish register)*, which was written in Latin around 1490 and is preserved today in the Bavarian Hauptstaatsarchiv Munich (Kloster St. Nikola Passau, Amtsbücher und Akten 62). This "Land-Ordinale" was most likely made by the parish priest Konrad Trandler (urk. 1468-1493, † before 18.05.1496), who was the parish priest of St. Peter Hartkirchen, which was incorporated into the Augustinian monastery of St. Nikola before Passau, from about 1486-1496.


Hartkirchen am Inn, today a village of the municipality of Pocking in the Lower Bavarian "Bäderdreieck", was an important market and parish in the Middle Ages, to which the subsidiary churches of St. Ulrich Pocking and Mariae Himmelfahrt Mittich belonged. It is clear from the "Pfarramtsbuch" that a large number of priests (parish priests, chaplains and cooperators) were responsible for singing the Gregorian Chant and had to perform an extensive workload of masses, vespers, lauds and vigils. However, no cantor, school teacher or schola can be proven for Hartkirchen for this period, nor can an organ.

In addition to liturgical information (with concrete references to the Passau Diocesan Ordinary and to missals that were issued in the churches), this "Amtsbuch" also regulates the payment of priests and church servants for whom the "Zechpröpste" (church finance administrators) were responsible. As was common practice at that time, a Brotherhood of Mary also existed in Hartkirchen with its own "Zechpropst", who had to administer the foundation funds. At the instigation of the Brotherhood, the Marian antiphon Salve regina was sung every Saturday evening in the Marian Chapel of the church. Of some importance for regional historical research are the numerous mentions of liturgical services (functions), persons and places. Remarkable here are the places of stations mentioned in the numerous processions. In addition to regular walks around Hartkirchen cemetery and Stationes am "Karner", the route also led to neighbouring and more distant churches and chapels. Thus the parish procession on Monday of the week of rogation before Ascension Day led to Passau and on Tuesday to St. Nicholas Church in Rottersham (Ruhstorf parish). Hartkirchen played a central role as a "place of pilgrimage" in the rogation processions on the following Wednesday. Here pilgrims from Pocking, Mittich, Vornbach, Eholfing, Ering, Malching, Rottalmünster, Kühnham, Würding and Safferstetten met in Hartkirchen to celebrate the devine office together.

Unusual for a rural parish is also the large number of donations of "Seelgerätstiftungen" (spiritual foundations), which, in addition to the regular workload, resulted in an annual burden for the priests in the form of 31 vigils for the dead (night offices), 10 officies for Holy Mary, 28 requiem and 60 "ordinary" masses.

Codicological description: Parchment, 12x27 cm, leather covered wooden binding with stamping.

Dating: The year 1431 mentioned on the front cover of the book cannot be the date of the compilation. The priest Georg Gansar from Beutelsbach, mentioned in the main part, died in 1467 and Steffan Schmecknpfrill of Gstetten, also mentioned here, is documented as having died in 1479. The priest Wolfgangus Zingknhawser was a benefactor at the hospital church of St. Nikola in Passau from 1450 to 1491 and probably only afterwards in Hartkirchen. The added "Nota constitutiones" (fol. 10rv) must also have been written during the term of office of the Griesbach "Pfleger" (administrator) Christoph Cammer (urk. 1487-1495).

The book genre "Pfarramtsbuch" is not clearly defined for the time relevant here. The Hartkirchner "Amtsbuch" is to be understood as a local supplement to the Passau diocesan Liber ordinarius. It contains references to prayers, readings and hymns only in exceptional cases. If necessary, reference is made to the Ordinal. Rather, it is an instruction to the community of priests as to who was to serve in which church on which day, what is to be observed in the specific case and what remuneration the priests and church servants are to receive. Of importance for musicology is the clear separation between the "Missa lecta" (read mass) and a large number of services actually sung (mass, office and procession). Noteworthy is the information on the anniversaries and other "Seelgerätstiftungen". These can only partly be found in preserved charters. In summary, this parish register can be considered an important cultural and historical source.

Further information on persons, liturgical services and places mentioned in the Pfarramtsbuch.

by Robert Klugseder

Ansicht wählen:

Cantus Network

libri ordinarii of the Salzburg metropolitan province (Beta-Version)

Feedback

Hartkirchen

Das Amtsbuch der Pfarrei Hartkirchen.

Ein beachtenswertes und seltenes Zeugnis für die liturgische Praxis einer Landpfarrei stellt ein Pfarramtsbuch* dar, das um 1490 in lateinischer Sprache verfasst wurde und heute im Bayerischen Hauptstaatsarchiv München erhalten ist (Kloster St. Nikola Passau, Amtsbücher und Akten 62). Dieses „Land-Ordinale“ wurde sehr wahrscheinlich von Pfarrer Konrad Trandler (urk. 1468–1493, † vor dem 18.05.1496) angefertigt, der etwa von 1486–1496 Kirchherr in der dem Augustinerchorherrenkloster St. Nikola vor Passau inkorporierten Pfarrei St. Petrus Hartkirchen war.


Hartkirchen am Inn, heute Ortsteil der Stadtgemeinde Pocking im niederbayerischen Bäderdreieck, war im Mittelalter ein bedeutender Markt und Pfarrort, zu dem die Filialkirchen St. Ulrich Pocking und Mariae Himmelfahrt Mittich gehörten. Aus dem Pfarramtsbuch geht klar hervor, dass eine größere Zahl an Priestern (Pfarrherr, Kapläne und Kooperatoren) für das Singen des Gregorianischen Chorals zuständig war und ein umfangreiches Pensum an Messen, Vespern, Laudes und Vigilien zu bestreiten hatte. Ein Kantor, Schullehrer oder eine Schola sind für Hartkirchen für diese Zeit allerdings nicht nachweisbar, ebenso wenig eine Orgel.

Neben liturgischen Informationen (mit konkreten Verweisen auf das Passauer Diözesanordinale und auf Missalien, die in den Kirchen auflagen) ist in diesem Amtsbuch auch die Bezahlung der Priester und Kirchendiener geregelt, für die die Zechpröpste zuständig waren. Wie zu dieser Zeit allgemein üblich existierte auch in Hartkirchen eine Marienbruderschaft mit einem eigenen Zechpropst, der die Stiftungsgelder zu verwalten hatte. Auf Veranlassung der Bruderschaft wurde an jedem Samstagabend in der Marienkapelle der Kirche die marianische Schlussantiphon Salve regina gesungen. Für die regionale Geschichtsforschung von einiger Bedeutung sind die zahlreich vorhanden Erwähnungen von liturgischen Diensten (Funktionen), Personen und Orten. Bemerkenswert sind hier die bei den zahlreichen Prozessionen genannten Stationsorte. Neben regelmäßigen Umgängen im Hartkirchner Friedhof und Stationes am Karner führte der Weg auch zu benachbarten wie auch weiter entfernten Kirchen und Kapellen. So führte die Prozession der Pfarrgemeinde am Montag der Bittwoche vor Christi Himmelfahrt nach Passau und am Dienstag zur St. Nikolauskirche in Rottersham (Gemeinde Ruhstorf). Eine zentrale Rolle als „Wallfahrtort“ nahm Hartkirchen bei den Bittprozessionen am darauffolgenden Mittwoch ein. Hier trafen Pilger aus Pocking, Mittich, Vornbach, Eholfing, Ering, Malching, Rottalmünster, Kühnham, Würding und Safferstetten in Hartkirchen zusammen, um gemeinsam das Opus dei zu feiern.

Ungewöhnlich für eine Landpfarrei ist zudem die große Zahl an Seelgerätstiftungen, woraus sich jährlich, zusätzlich zum regulären Pensum, eine Belastung für die Priester durch 31 Totenvigilien (Nachtoffizien), 10 Marienoffizien, 28 Requiem und 60 „gewöhnliche“ Messen ergab.

Kodikologische Beschreibung: Pergament, 12x27 cm, lederbezogener Holzeinband mit Prägung.

Datierung: Das auf dem vorderen Buchdeckel genannte Jahr 1431 kann nicht der Zeitpunkt der Kompilation sein. So starb der im Hauptteil erwähnte Beutelsbacher Pfarrer Georg Gansar erst im Jahr 1467. Der hier ebenfalls genannte Steffan Schmecknpfrill von Gstetten ist urkundlich für das Jahr 1479 nachweisbar. Der Priester Wolfgangus Zingknhawser war von 1450 bis 1491 Benefiziat an der Spitalkirche von St. Nikola in Passau und vermutlich erst anschließend (als Kommorant?) in Hartkirchen tätig. Die nachgetragenen „Nota constitutiones“ (fol. 10rv) müssen zudem in der Amtszeit des Griesbacher Pflegers Christoph Cammer (urk. 1487–1495) entstanden sein.

Die Buchgattung „Pfarramtsbuch“ ist für die hier relevante Zeit nicht klar definiert. Das Hartkirchner Amtsbuch ist als lokale Ergänzung des Passauer Diözesan-Liber ordinarius zu verstehen. Es enthält nur ausnahmsweise Hinweise auf Gebete, Lesungen und Gesänge. Wenn notwendig, wird auf das Ordinale verwiesen. Vielmehr ist es eine Anweisung an die Priestergemeinschaft, wer an welchem Tag in welcher Kirche Dienst zu leisten hatte, was in dem konkreten Fall zu beachten ist und welche Entlohnung die Priester und Kirchendiener erhalten sollen. Für die Musikwissenschaft von Bedeutung ist die klare Trennung zwischen der „Missa lecta“ (gelesene Messe) und einer großen Zahl an tatsächlich gesungenen Diensten (Messe, Offizium und Prozession). Beachtenswert sind die Informationen zu den Jahrtagen und sonstigen Seelgerätstiftungen. Diese lassen sich nur noch zum Teil in erhaltenen Urkunden nachweisen. Zusammenfassend betrachtet kann dieses Pfarramtsbuch als bedeutende kulturgeschichtliche Quelle bewertet werden.

Weitere Informationen zu Personen, liturgischen Diensten und Orten, die im Pfarramtsbuch erwähnt werden.

von Robert Klugseder

Ansicht wählen: