Cantus Network

libri ordinarii of the Salzburg metropolitan province (Beta-Version)

Feedback

Brixen

The Brixen (Bressanone) Liber ordinarius.

Up until 1920, the city of Brixen/Bressanone was the episcopal see of a large diocese that extended not only over the Alps to the south, but also into North Tyrol along the River Inn. Brixen became a church centre during the 10th century – definitely from 990 onwards, when the episcopal see was moved there from Säben (Sabiona), a diocese whose origins are still unknown. The diocese of Säben was originally part of the Patriarchate of Aquileia and was allocated to the newly founded metropolitan diocese of Salzburg in 798.


Today, a copy of the Brixen Liber ordinarius is held in the Library of the Collegiate Monastery of Innichen (San Candido) (Codex VII A 10). The text of the rule forms part of a complex liturgical composite manuscript, which among other things includes a calendar – secundum consuetudinem ecclesiae Brixinensis – written during the second half of the 13th century.

Unfortunately, the Liber ordinarius is incomplete. Two important sections are missing – from the Lauds of Maundy Thursday to the feast of Pope Urban and from the Saturday after Pentecost to the feast of Saints Gervasius and Protasius. The rule text ends abruptly with the feast Vincula Petri.

This notwithstanding, the Liber ordinarius is the oldest surviving source of Brixen's liturgy. Even though the text itself does not contain any pointers, we can date it to the second half of the 13th century in line with palaeographic and codicological findings. The presence of the proper office for Ingenuin and Albuin, Brixen Cathedral's second patron saints, is a clear indication of the ordinarius's provenance.

Furthermore, all of the churches and chapels mentioned in the text are associated with the episcopal centre in Brixen: the chapels for St. Mary and St. John are to be found in the cloisters on the right side of the cathedral precinct, while the parish church of St. Michael is on the other side. The fourth church Sancta Crux in Insulam, which no longer exists today, was also not far from the cathedral and could be accessed via a bridge (close to today's seminary) over the River Eisach, which formed a small peninsula together with the River Rienz. Furthermore, the Liber ordinarius mentions two important locations in the cathedral itself: the altar to St. Agnes, whose cult became very important after Pope Damasus II (1047-1048), a former Bishop of Brixen, gave her relics to the diocese, and the sepulchrum beati Hartmanni, Bishop of Brixen, who was beatified directly after his death in 1164.

The manuscript is the only source to transmit the repertory of Introit tropes used in Brixen during the Middle Ages. Even though it is incomplete, it is very similar to the archetype of the so-called "short trope Type β" – to use Andreas Haug's nomenclature. In addition to the standard tropes for Nativitatis Domini, Stephani, Ioannis Evangelista, Epiphania, Purificatio, Ascensio and Pentecosten, the manuscript contains tropes for the diocesan patron saints Ingenuin and Albuinus.

by Gionata Brusa

Ansicht wählen:

Cantus Network

libri ordinarii of the Salzburg metropolitan province (Beta-Version)

Feedback

Brixen

Der Brixner Liber Ordinarius

Bis zum Jahr 1920 war die Stadt Brixen/Bressanone Bischofssitz einer großen Diözese, die sich nicht nur im Süden über die Alpen erstreckte, sondern auch in Nordtirol entlang des Inns. Während des 10. Jahrhunderts wurde Brixen zum kirchlichen Zentrum. Definitiv ab 990, als der Bischofssitz von Säben (Sabiona), einem Bistum, dessen Ursprung ungeklärt bleibt, nach Brixen verlegt wurde. Die Diözese von Säben war ursprünglich Teil des Patriarchats von Aquileia und kam im Jahr 798 zur neugegründeten Metropole Salzburg.


Heute wird eine Kopie des Liber Ordinarius von Brixen in der Bibliothek des Kollegiatstifts Innichen (San Candido) aufbewahrt (Codex VII A 10). Der Regeltext ist Teil einer komplexen liturgischen Sammelhandschrift, welche unter anderen ein Kalendar – secundum consuetudinem ecclesiae Brixinensis – enthält, der in der zweiten Hälfte des 13. Jahrhunderts geschrieben wurde.

Leider ist der Liber Ordinarius unvollständig. Es fehlen zwei wichtige Teile – von den Laudes des Gründonnerstags bis zum Fest Papst Urbans sowie von Samstag nach Pfingsten bis zum Festtag der Heiligen Gervasius und Protasius. Der Regeltext endet abrupt mit dem Fest Vincula Petri.

Ungeachtet dessen ist der Liber Ordinarius die älteste erhaltene Quelle für die Liturgie von Brixen. Obwohl der Text keinerlei Hinweise gibt, können wir ihn – entsprechend paläographischer und kodikologischer Befunde – der zweiten Hälfte des 13. Jahrhunderts zuweisen. Das Vorhandensein des Eigenoffiziums für Ingenuin und Albuin, den Zweitpatronen der Kathedrale von Brixen, weist deutlich auf die Provenienz des Ordinarius hin.

Darüber hinaus sind alle im Text erwähnten Kirchen bzw. Kapellen mit dem bischöflichen Zentrum in Brixen verbunden: Die Kapellen für die heilige Maria und den heiligen Johannes sind im Kreuzgang auf der rechten Seite des Dombezirks zu finden, während sich auf der anderen Seite die Pfarrkirche von St. Michael erhebt. Das vierte, heute nicht mehr existierende Gotteshaus Sancta Crux in Insulam lag ebenfalls nicht weit vom Dom entfernt. Man erreichte die Kirche über eine Brücke in der Nähe des heutigen Priesterseminars über die Eisach, die zusammen mit dem Fluss Rienz eine kleine Halbinsel bildet. Ferner erinnert der Liber Ordinarius an zwei Orte in der Kathedrale: Den St. Agnes- Altar, deren Kult sehr wichtig wurde, nachdem Papst Damasus II. (1047-1048), ein ehemaliger Bischof von Brixen, ihre Reliquien der Diözese stiftete. Ferner an das sepulchrum beati Hartmanni, Bischof von Brixen, der unmittelbar nach seinem Tod 1164 seliggesprochen wurde.

Das Manuskript stellt die einzige Quelle dar, die das Repertoire der Introitus-Tropen, die in Brixen während des Mittelalters verwendet wurden, überliefert. Obgleich unvollständig, ist es dem im südostdeutschen Raum verbreiteten Archetypus des so genannten „Kurztropars Typus β“ – gemäß der Nomenklatur von Andreas Haug – sehr ähnlich. Zusätzlich zu den Standardtropen für Nativitas Domini, Stephani, Ioannis Evangelista, Epiphania, Purificatio, Ascensio und Pentecosten sind solche für die Bistumspatrone Ingenuin und Albuinus enthalten.

von Gionata Brusa

zur Übertragung des Liber ordinarius