GAMS

Humanities' Asset Management System

About

What is GAMS?

GAMS is an OAIS compliant asset management system for the management, publication and long-term archiving of digital resources from the Humanities. It enables scholars, researchers and students to manage and publish resources from projects with permanent identification and enriched with metadata.
Design and development of GAMS are carried out by the Centre for Information Modelling in cooperation with multiple partners inside and outside the university, with regards to the specific requirements of humanistic research.
The repository is fully OAIS (Open Archival Information System)-compliant and covers the full life cycle of digital objects from receiving the SIP (submission information package), archiving the AIP (archival information package) and delivering the DIP (dissemination information package) to the public.
With regard to the archived data we work towards the FAIR data principles: "data should be Findable, Accessible, Interoperable, and Re-usable".

What technologies are used?

GAMS was conceived and developed on the basis of the Open-Source project FEDORA (Flexible Extensible Digital Object Repository Architecture) (http://fedora-commons.org) and has been continuously improved in the course of cooperative projects, addressing the specific needs of university research. A Java application for object management and data curation was developed: This Cirilo Client offers applications which are particularly suited to being used as tools for mass operations on Fedora repository objects, such as ingest or replacement processes. It also fulfills a lot of functions with regards to metadata enrichment and quality control of the resources.
Further integral technologies include Apache Cocoon, Blazegraph, Apache Lucene, Apache Solr, PostgreSQL and Loris IIIF image server. Special attention is paid to the platform independence and open source policies of the included software.

Which data formats are used?

GAMS is based on XML (eXtensible Markup Language) -based standards and technologies for data storage and representation. If the data in question does not conform to any XML-based international standard, the Centre will implement suitable workflows for the conversion of the content in agreement with the project partners.
For text and metadata, the Centre uses (among others) the following standards: TEI (Text Encoding Initiative), LIDO (Lightweight Information Describing Objects), DC (Dublin Core), METS/MODS (Metadata Encoding and Transmission Standard/Metadata Object Description Scheme), RDF (Resource Description Framework), SKOS (Simple Knowledge Organization System). This list of preferred formats is reflected in the use of dedicated content models for the respective standards. The Cirilo Client then checks the well-formedness of the XML and validates the document against the given schema to ensure conformity.
Data producers must deliver images in the recognized standards JPEG/JPEG2000 (Joint Photographic Experts Group) or TIFF (Tagged Image File Format); if necessary the Centre assists in a conversion process.

How can data be deposited, which data is collected?

Data can only be deposited as part of a cooperation research project. Each project is accompanied by a metadata manager from the Centre to assist with the workflow, data modelling, deposition and publication process in the course of the project. This approach guarantees the creation of high quality data prepared for publication and long-term archiving.
Sample deposition agreement
Sample data management plan

How can the data be accessed?

For users, usually the first point of access will be the graphical user interface created specifically for the project in question. It will offer suitable ways of interacting with the data in question. There is also the possibility to perform a full-text search on the complete data basis of GAMS with the search field at http://gams.uni-graz.at. In addition, you can browse the FEDORA backend at http://gams.uni-graz.at/archive/search.
To systematically harvest or integrate data, use our OAI-PMH interface at http://gams.uni-graz.at/oaiprovider and query it according to the PMH. Currently, three metadata prefixes are supported: oai_dc (Dublin Core), oai_europeana (Europeana Semantic Elements) and oai_edm (Europeana Data Model).
With regard to images, all image data stored in the repository can be delivered via a IIIF-compatible image server. To this end, use the syntax http://gams.uni-graz.at/iiif/{object PID}/{image PID}/{IIIF query}.
In agreement with the partners, data can also be contributed to various aggregation services like Europeana, CorrespSearch, Pelagios or Nomisma. The legal status of the data and objects in question are clarified with the project partner; usually all resources are available under a non-commercial Creative Commons license (Creative Commons BY-NC 4.0). The Centre also offers consulting and expertise in the fields of IPR (Intellectual Property Rights) and licensing.

How are data objects persistently identified?

Internally, data objects go by a persistent identifier (PID) in the form of a standardized project related permanent link. In addition, the infrastructure includes a Handle server, offering the possibility to assign an identifier in this system (prefix 11471).

What does the workflow and data life cycle in GAMS look like?

The following figure illustrates the data life cycle in the GAMS repository.

GAMS workflow and data life cycle
GAMS workflow and data life cycle

Is GAMS a trusted digital repository?

GAMS was first certified as a trusted digital repository in alignment with the principles of the Data Seal of Approval in 2014. We seek renewal of certification with the Core Trust Seal in the course of 2018. GAMS is also registered with the Registry of Research Data Repositories.

Where can I learn more about the infrastructure and is it reusable?

The whole infrastructure is available as an open source software package as a contribution to DARIAH-EU at https://github.com/acdh/cirilo. Extensive documentation can be found on this site http://gams.uni-graz.at/docs.

GAMS

Geisteswissenschaftliches Asset Management System

About

Was ist GAMS?

GAMS ist ein OAIS-konformes Asset Management System zur Verwaltung, Publikation und Langzeitarchivierung digitaler Ressourcen aus allen geisteswissenschaftlichen Fächern. Es bietet MitarbeiterInnen aus Forschung und Lehre, aber auch Studierenden in Projekten die Möglichkeit, diese Ressourcen zitabel und mit Metadaten versehen zu verwalten und zu veröffentlichen.
Geplant und entwickelt wurde GAMS am Zentrum für Informationsmodellierung im Rahmen einer Vielzahl von Kooperationsprojekten mit inner- und außeruniversitären PartnerInnen, in Auseinandersetzung mit den konkreten Erfordernissen universitärer Forschung.
Das Repositorium ist komplett OAIS(Open Archival Information System)-konform und deckt den gesamten Lebenszyklus von digitalen Objekten vom Erhalt des SIP (submission information package), speichern des AIP (archival information package) und Zurverfügungstellung des DIP (dissemination information package) für die Öffentlichkeit ab.
Mit Hinblick auf die gespeicherten Daten orientieren wir uns an den FAIR-Datenprinzipien: "data should be Findable, Accessible, Interoperable, and Re-usable".

Welche Technologien werden verwendet?

GAMS basiert auf dem Open Source Projekt FEDORA (Flexible Extensible Digital Object Repository Architecture) (http://fedora-commons.org) und wird im Rahmen von Kooperationsprojekten laufend weiterentwickelt um auf spezifische Forschungsinteressen Rücksicht zu nehmen. Für das Objektmanagement und die Datenkuratierung wurde eine eigene Java Appliation entwickelt. Dieser Cirilo Client bietet Funktionalitäten, die besonders für große Mengen an Objekten relevant sind, z.B. Ingest oder Ersetzungsoperationen. Er übernimmt auch zahlreiche Aufgaben bei der Anreicherung der Metadaten und der Qualitätskontrolle der Ressourcen.
Weitere wesentliche Bestandteile der Infrastruktur basieren auf Apache Cocoon, Blazegraph, Apache Lucene, Apache Solr, PostgreSQL und Loris IIIF image server. Besonderes Augenmerk liegt auf der Plattformunabängigkeit und der Open Source Policy der einzelnen Softwarekomponenten.

Welche Datenformate werden verwendet?

GAMS setzt auf eine XML-(eXtensible Markup Language)basierte Datenarchivierung und -präsentation. Wenn die Daten nicht in einem anerkannten XML-basierten Standard vorliegen, implementiert das Zentrum in Abstimmung mit den Projektpartnern einen Konvertierungsablauf.
Für textbasierten Inhalt und Metadaten werden unter anderem die folgenden Standards verwendet: TEI (Text Encoding Initiative), LIDO (Lightweight Information Describing Objects), DC (Dublin Core), METS/MODS (Metadata Encoding and Transmission Standard/Metadata Object Description Scheme), RDF (Resource Description Framework), SKOS (Simple Knowledge Organization System). Diese Liste von bevorzugten Formaten spiegelt sich auch in der Verwendung von dafür vorgesehenden spezifischen Content Models. Der Cirilo Client prüft die Daten auf Wohlgeformtheit und validiert gegen das jeweils zu verwendende Schema.
Bilddateien müssen von den Datenlieferanten in den Standards JPEG/JPEG2000 (Joint Photographic Experts Group) oder TIFF (Tagged Image File Format) zur Verfügung gestellt werden; bei Bedarf kann das Zentrum hier ebenfalls eine Konvertierung durchführen.

Wie können Daten abgegeben werden, welche Daten werden gesammelt?

Daten können nur im Rahmen eines Kooperationsprojektes ins Repositorium eingebracht werden. Jedes Projekte wird während der gesamten Laufzeit von einem/einer Metadatenmanager/in begleitet, der/die den Arbeitsablauf, die Datenmodellierung den Ingest und die Publikation betreut. Dieser Zugang garantiert hohe Datenqualität, die sowohl für die Publikation wie auch für die Langzeitarchivierung geeignet ist.
Muster Deposition Agreement (Englisch)
Muster Datenmanagementplan (Englisch)

Wie kann auf die Daten zugegriffen werden?

Für BenutzerInnen ist der erste Zugriffspunkt normalerweise die grafische Benutzeroberfläche des jeweiligen Projektes. Diese bietet zugeschnittene und vorstrukturierte Zugangswege um mit den Ressourcen zu interagieren. Es gibt auch die Möglichkeit eine Volltextsuche auf die gesamte Datenbasis von GAMS zu starten, indem man das Suchfeld auf http://gams.uni-graz.at verwendet. Zusätzlich kann das FEDORA backend unter http://gams.uni-graz.at/archive/search abgefragt werden.
Um Daten systematisch zu harvesten oder in eigene Kontexte zu integrieren kann die OAI-PMH Schnittstelle unter http://gams.uni-graz.at/oaiprovider verwendet und nach den Regeln des PMH abgefragt werden. Zur Zeit werden drei Metadatenpräfixe unterstützt: oai_dc (Dublin Core), oai_europeana (Europeana Semantic Elements) und oai_edm (Europeana Data Model).
Alle Bilddateien im Repositorium können auch über den IIIF-kompatiblen Image Server ausgeliefert werden. Hierfür muss die folgende Syntax verwendet werden: http://gams.uni-graz.at/iiif/{object PID}/{image PID}/{IIIF query}.
In Absprache mit den Projektpartnern können die Daten auch an verschiedene Aggregationsprojekte geliefert werden, beispielsweise Europeana, CorrespSearch, Pelagios oder Nomisma. Mögliche rechtliche Fragen zu den verwendeten Inhalten werden im Projektverlauf mit den Partnern geklärt; normalerweise werden alle Resourcen unter einer nicht-kommerziellen Creative Commons Lizenz geführt (Creative Commons BY-NC-SA 4.0). Das Zentrum bietet dabei auch Consulting und Unterstützung in den Bereichen Urheberrecht und Lizensierung.

Wie können Datenobjekte persistent adressiert werden?

Intern werden Datenobjekte unter einem persistent identifier (PID) in Form eines projektspezifischen Permalinks verspeichert. Zusätzlich inkludiert die GAMS-Infrastruktur einen Handle Server, der die Möglichkeit bietet, auch in diesem System einen permanenten Identifikator anzulegen (Präfix 11471).

Wie sieht der Arbeitsablauf und ein Datenlebenszyklus in der GAMS aus?

Die nachfolgende Grafik zeigt den Lebenszyklus von Daten im GAMS Repositorium.

GAMS Workflow und Datenlebenszyklus
GAMS Workflow und Datenlebenszyklus

Ist GAMS ein vertrauenswürdiges digitales Archiv (trusted digital repository)?

GAMS wurde 2014 erstmals als vertrauenwürdiges digitales Archiv nach den Richtlinien des Data Seal of Approval zertifiziert. Wir streben eine Erneuerung der Zertifizierung mit dem Core Trust Seal im Laufe des Jahres 2018 an. GAMS ist auch bei Registry of Research Data Repositories registriert.

Wo kann ich mehr über die Infrastruktur erfahren und kann sie weiterverwendet werden?

Das gesamte Infrastrukturpaket ist als Beitrag zu DARIAH-EU als Open Source Software unter https://github.com/acdh/cirilo zur Nachnutzung verfügbar. Eine umfangreiche Dokumentation kann auf dieser Seite unter http://gams.uni-graz.at/docs abgerufen werden (auf Englisch).